The origin of this word is indisputably Australian. Sarah Moersdorf 0. I’ve been wondering for the longest time, however, i guess because of the stint in Perth, Western Australia where i studied and enjoyed nicely made and fresh nougat at Fremantle Markets, i was rather distracted. Feeling inspired to learn more weird quirks from around the English-speaking world? The name "bowser" comes from Mr Sylvanus Bowser, of Fort Wayne, Indiana, who invented what he described as "a self- measuring gasoline storage pump". There are those that make the word even longer like it is with boozer – a pub, rotten – drunk, etc. bizzo, ambo), and then original Aussie slang phrases. Aggro (or Agro) When you are mad at someone or something, you’re aggro —short for “aggravated”. Posted: August 1, 2013 . Callard & Bowser Dessert Nougat. Put on your budgie smugglers, grab some brekkie, and watch Conan learn some Australian slang. So, why not let us aid your teaching on the significance of this day with a collection of Australia Day displays. Quality viewing Oi, mate! Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Bowser is an Australian slang term for a petrol pump. Quick Daily Lessons. ALL … Your email address will not be published. Some merely call this the spotting bottle, we, however, are more inventive. Let's take a butchers hook. Want to learn these Australian slang expressions and more? Arvo – Afternoon (S’Arvo – this afternoon!) So, if you come to the roo’s (aka kangaroo) country, you will, find different Macca’s than elsewhere in the world and find even more examples of, – the National Services (obligatory military services), and is rarely used by the young people in Aussie. Step into the realm of the unknown. Was made famous by Steve Irwin. So, why not let us aid your teaching on the significance of this day with a collection of Australia Day displays. The Australian slang word “seppo” has derived from its predecessor “septic tank” or “yank” and is r